2020 Spirit Awards Press Room Interviews with Bong Joon-Ho, Adam Sandler, Olivia Wilde & More


We attended the 2020 Independent Spirit Awards and were on site to record the press room interviews while there. Check out the footage from the press room below!



Top honors were handed out at the 35th Film Independent Spirit Awards ceremony to The Farewell, Uncut Gems, The Lighthouse, Marriage Story, Judy, Booksmart and See You Yesterday. Give Me Liberty, American Factory and Parasite also received awards at the ceremony, which was held this afternoon on the beach in Santa Monica. In addition to being the celebration that honors artist-driven films made with an economy of means by filmmakers whose films embody diversity, innovation and uniqueness of vision, the Spirit Awards is the primary fundraiser for Film Independent’s year-round programs.


This year’s major winners were Uncut Gems, which won Best Director, Best Male Lead and Best Editing; The Farewell, which won Best Feature and Best Supporting Female; The Lighthouse, which won Best Supporting Male and Best Cinematography; Marriage Story which won the Robert Altman Award and Best Screenplay; Judy which won Best Female Lead; Booksmart which won Best First Feature; See You Yesterday which won Best First Screenplay; Give Me Liberty which won the John Cassavetes Award; American Factory which won Best Documentary; and Parasite which won Best International Film.


The 13th annual Robert Altman Award was given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast. Marriage Story director Noah Baumbach received this award, along with casting directors Douglas Aibel and Francine Maisler as well as cast members Alan Alda, Laura Dern, Adam Driver, Julie Hagerty, Scarlett Johansson, Ray Liotta, Azhy Robertson and Merritt Wever.


We took video from the backstage press room where some of this year’s winners stopped by for quick interviews. Check it all out below! 


‘Parasite’ Director Bong Joon-Ho:


Adam Sandler:


‘Booksmart’ Director Olivia Wilde & cast Beanie Feldstein, Kaitlyn Dever, and Billie Lourd:


Willem Dafoe:


‘The Farewell’ Director Lulu Wang & filmmakers:


‘Uncut Gems’ Directors Joshua Safdie & Benjamin Safdie:


‘See You Yesterday’ Filmmakers Fredrica Bailey & Stefon Bristol:


‘Give Me Liberty’ Filmmakers Alice Austen & Kirill Mikhanovsky: